Future Leaders Scholarship


The Future Leaders Scholarship aims to identify young men and women who will be tomorrow’s leaders. Each year the Bay State Games is proud to award these $2,000 scholarships to six deserving Bay State Games athletes. Over the past 25 years nearly $300,000 has been distributed to students who wish to continue their education.

Past recipients of the Future Leaders Scholarship have gone on to institutions located in New England as well as across the nation including Harvard, Stanford, Boston College, Notre Dame, Princeton, UMass Amherst, Yale, UCLA, Boston University, Holy Cross, Tufts, University of Virginia, Holy Cross, and Providence College.

The Massachusetts Amateur Sports Foundation awards these scholarships because it believes the future leaders of tomorrow are developed during their high school years with a solid foundation built on academics, athletics, and other interests as well as community service.  Achieving success in academics, athletics, and community service teaches responsibility to self and to others, fosters a sense of self-worth, and develops an appreciation for the importance of setting goals and working to achieve them. If learned well, these lessons help make effective leaders in business, education, and the community. These values help to craft the leaders of tomorrow, and the Bay State Games hopes to help these leaders with the Futures Leaders Scholarship program.

2019 Scholarship Winners

Emily Dobrindt                        Milton                    Milton HS                             Swimming
Allondra Msallem                    Dedham                Dedham HS                          Track & Field
Nishka Pant                              Westborough       Westborough HS                  Swimming
Keleyia Lamarra Rochelle     Mattapan              Wellesley HS                         Swimming 
Jacqueline Smith                     Stow                      Nashoba Regional HS         Archery
Ella Stanwood                          Wenham               Hamilton-Wenham HS      Figure Skating


2018 Scholarship Winners

Isaiah Castellucci      Gloucester             Landmark HS                             Messiah College
Janet Dickens            Merrimac               Pentucket Regional HS            Endicott College
Thomas Fisher          Stoughton              Catholic Memorial HS              Bentley University
Katherine Widrow   Stoughton               Stoughton HS                            UMass Amherst
Yvonne Koperek       North Adams         Drury HS                                    UMass Amherst
Carissa Letendre      Whitinsville            Northbridge HS                        Rivier University


2017 Scholarship Winners

Emily Duffy              Belmont                   Belmont HS                                Bates College
Arienne Howard      Boston                     Fontbonne Academy                 Kean University
Shaelyn Carreiro      Fall River                Durfee HS                                   UMass Dartmouth
Sarah Widrow          Stoughton               Stoughton HS                             UMass Amherst
Hayley Moniz           Westfield                 Westfield HS                              Wellesley College
Katelyn Pickunka    Westhampton         Hampshire Regional HS          Smith College


Applicants must be:

  • A Junior (11th grade) who is a resident of Massachusetts, or attends a secondary school in Massachusetts, as of the 2019-2020 academic year.
  • Past or current participation in the Bay State Winter or Summer Games is required to apply for the Future Leaders Scholarship.


The applicant must provide the following in one envelope:

  • Completed application form 
  • Personal statements typed on separate paper
  • Recommendation from a coach or athletic director in a sealed envelope
  • Recommendation from a guidance counselor, teacher, or principal in a sealed envelope
  • Official school transcript, including the first half of the 2019-2020 academic year       


  • Recommendations should be typed, one page in length, signed by author, and sealed in an envelope
  • Recommendations should address the applicant’s demonstrated leadership abilities and achievements. It should give a clear sense of what qualities make the applicant unique and deserving of the Future Leaders Scholarship


Scholarships will be awarded to six students, two from each of three regions of the state:

Region 1: Metro/Northeast      

Region 2: Southeast/Coastal      

Region 3: Central/West

Regions will be determined by the location of the student’s permanent residence.  If a student resides out-of-state, his/her region will be determined by the location of the educational institution that he/she attends. 

Region breakdowns and Town Codes can be found here.

The selection process will begin with a review of each applicant’s personal statements, written recommendations, and transcript. From each region, six finalists will be chosen for personal interviews.


The entry deadline is Wednesday June 3, 2020

Finalists will be notified by June 10th and interviews will take place on the following dates

Region Date (tentative) Location
Metro/Northeast June 15 Polsinelli Law Offices - Boston, Mass.
Southeast/Coastal June 16 DXL Group - Canton, Mass.
Central/West June 17 Volleyball Hall of Fame - Holyoke, Mass.

All athletes must be available for the interview process. All candidates selected for interviews are strongly urged to attend in person. Athletes who cannot attend the scholarship interview must make themselves available for a teleconference call on the dates noted.

Massachusetts Amateur Sports Foundation

55 Sixth Road, Woburn, MA 01801
P: 781-932-6555 | F: 781-932-3441 | Email Us